Trusts & Estates Section

This Section and its working committees deal with issues such as estate planning; trust administration; probate of decedents’ estates; avoidance of probate; and the protection of incompetents and their assets through guardianships and conservatorships.

Section Leaders

Andrew G. Smith


Dina Y. Nam


Executive Committee

Elizabeth G. Acevedo

Program Co-Chair

David A. Shapiro

Program Co-Chair

Courtney Cole Patton

Assistant Program Co-Chair

Jacqueline Yu

Assistant Program Co-Chair

Jennifer McNeil-Lozano

Legal Updates Co-Chair

Teal M. Schoonover

Legal Updates Co-Chair

Jordan C. Parr


Mina Sirkin


Terry M. Magady

Elder Law Subcommittee Chair

Joseph G. Goldman

Immediate Past Co-Chair

Kevin W. Harrington

Immediate Past Co-Chair

Official Section Sponsors

Upcoming Section Events

Timothy Whitehouse Awards

March 16, 2021 – Presentation of the Timothy Whitehouse Award to Managing Probate Attorney Dean J. Silliman at the BHBA event “Updates from the Probate Judges”.

August 4, 2020 – Presentation of the Timothy Whitehouse Award to Judge David J. Cowan. Judge Cowan was the Supervising Judge of the Probate & Mental Health Department of the Los Angeles County Superior Court before he became the Assistant Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. The Hon. Kevin Brazile, Presiding Judge of the LA Superior Court, and the Hon. Eric Taylor, now Assistant Presiding Judge of the LA Superior Court and incoming Presiding Judge for the 2021-2022 term, attended the BHBA event to congratulate Judge Cowan. More than 200 people virtually attended the BHBA event “Catching Up with the Probate Judges”.

Timothy Whitehouse Award Winners List:

2022 –  Carmen Alberio
2021 – Dean J. Silliman
2020 – Judge David J. Cowan
2019 – Judge Maria E. Stratton
2018 – Kenneth S. Wolf, Esq.
2017 – Commissioner Robert S. Wada
2016 – Bet Tzedek
2016 – Dana Hopkins, Esq.
2015 – Commissioner Brenda Penny
2015 – Harold Weinstock, Esq.
2014 – Judge Mitchell Beckloff
2013 – Harlean Carroll, Esq.
2012 – Judge Aviva K. Bobb
2011 – James R. Birnberg, Esq.
2010 – Sandy Riley, Esq.
2009 – Robert Spaak, Esq.
2008 – Commissioner H. Ronald Hauptman
2007 – Matthew Sanderson Rae Jr., Esq.
2006 – Ms. Christine Oshima
2005 – Carmen Alberio, Esq.
2004 – Commissioner Ann E. Stodden

Watch Unlimited CLEs Year-Round

Continue your education with BHBA OnDemand. $20 a month. Unlimited CLE credit. Anywhere. Anytime.